Women in Rock

A growing trend in Western society today is female empowerment. The immense popularity of female artists in popular music, such as Taylor Swift, Nicki Minaj, Beyonce, among others, speaks to the power that women hold in the music industry. Even outside of the Top 40 radio-friendly music genre, female-fronted bands are increasingly popular in the worlds of rock and pop punk. Here are my personal favourite bands which include females.

By no means is this an exhaustive list; there are many more bands with amazing women in them. These are the bands that I personally listen to, so I feel like I know more about these bands, and I am able to write more about them than I would with other bands.

Tay Jardine of We Are The In Crowd

image

Taylor (or just Tay) Jardine is the main singer of We Are The In Crowd (WATIC). If I could describe Tay in one or two words, based on what I’ve seen in interviews and videos, I would say she is… spunky. She’s short, but she seems like she could pack a (verbal) punch if needed. This is evident in a few of WATIC’s songs, including The Best Thing That Never Happened and Manners.

Jenna McDougall of Tonight Alive

image

Jenna McDougall of Tonight Alive is another great female singer in pop/punk music. She is constantly telling her fans to believe in themselves and keep fighting, and she’s very into clean eating and being healthy. Jenna inspires her fans to take care of themselves and not to take anybody seriously. She’s a pop-punk badass.

Lynn Gunn of PVRIS

image

Lynn Gunn and her band PVRIS are taking the world by storm. After their album release last November, they have been seen everywhere, performing on numerous tours and award shows, and I’ve heard several of their songs playing in the background of some MTV shows. Everywhere, people seem to be entranced by Lynn’s voice and badass personality. I don’t think PVRIS are going away any time soon.

Lzzy Hale of Halestorm

image

Lzzy Hale of Halestom is one badass person. I’m not even sure how I can put it into words, but something about her entire aura feels badass and “rock n’ roll” to me. From her not-so-subtle sexual innuendo in her lyrics, to her fashion, to her guitar, to pretty much everything else about her.

Jess Bowen of The Summer Set

image

Jess Bowen shows that you don’t need to be the frontwoman/lead singer of a band to be awesome. As a drummer, she might not always be centre stage. But her talent always brings everyone’s eyes to her, and she brightens up the stage.

Hayley Williams of Paramore

image

Regular readers of this blog will know that I am a huge fan of Hayley. I love her voice, her style, and she seems to be an excellent role model for young girls. Hayley received the very first Trailblazer Award at Billboard’s Women in Music Awards in 2014, and I completely agree that she deserves this recognition. She has remained humble and positive, even though she has accomplished so much in the past decade. Hayley is a trailblazer because she is a risk taker, and she paves the way for similar women like her to follow in her footsteps. Paramore seems to set the standard for female-fronted bands. Whenever a new band becomes popular, their female lead singer is almost immediately compared to Hayley. The point is that Hayley seems to display what being a female in the rock music world should be like.

Leave a comment